So much news I don’t know where to start…

March 17, 2024 sarahjameswrites

FICTION

I’m very excited to start this blogpost with news that my flash fiction The Crown has won second prize in the Arundel Literary Festival Flash Fiction Competition 2024. My thanks to the organisers and this year’s judge, Tracy Fells. The full results for this and the poetry competition can be found here (scroll down to the Competitions section).

Big thanks too to National Flash Fiction Day anthology editors Karen Jones and Sara Hills for selecting my flash The Piano in the Room for this year’s AIR, EARTH, WATER AND FIRE themed anthology. National Flash Fiction Day is on 15 June this year and details of the anthology line-up can be found here.

POETRY

Massive thanks again also to the judges, selectors and those involved in the administration for various poetry prizes and publications that I’ve had good news about recently.

I’m delighted to share that my poem Bluebell Blue is joint runner-up in the Pre-Raphaelite Society Poetry Competition 2023!

Another poem has also just been longlisted in the Black Cat Press Nature Competition 2024!

I’m very pleased too to have my poem Not Entirely Whole Now (Fountains Abbey, HG4 3DY) included on the Lancaster Litfest Histories Map.

POETRYFILM

I didn’t have time to blog about my poetryfilm Mâché (from my Verve collection Blood Sugar, Sex, Magic) being part of StAnza On Screen 2024 earlier, but many of you saw through my events page and social media.

I know lots of you also went across to watch it and like/vote for it online. But I’ve heard that some had problems with the liking part, as YouTube required a sign-in, plus in some cases multiple confirm email details, verification codes, change your email password… My parents had this, and, of course, I wouldn’t ask anyone to go through that much trouble just to like my film!

What I do want to say therefore though is a BIG THANKS to everyone who watched it, regardless of whether they were able to like it or not. That you watched it and took time to let me know how you’d found it and that you’d enjoyed it means the world to me!!!

For anyone who didn’t catch it at the festival in-person screening or online during the festival, you can still watch it now.
 

Tuesday, 19 March 2024 – Ledbury Poetry Salon, featuring Sarah James, and Open Mic

Ledbury Poetry House
Herefordshire
Tue 19 Mar 2024,
7:00PM – 9:00PM

I’m so excited to be back doing a reading for Ledbury Poetry. The main festival is always a delight, and the range of workshops, readings and other events they stage throughout the year is incredible.

More information and ticket-booking can be found here. (Scroll down the page to find this event, then either click on BOOK NOW to get tickets or on the event title, Ledbury Poetry Salon and Open Mic – Sarah James, if you’d like to see more information about it first.)

WORKSHOP AND PERFORMANCE

I had an amazing time yesterday afternoon leading a poetry workshop on the theme of ‘Truth’ for Crave Arts at Number 8, Pershore. There was some wonderful work produced and shared in the workshop.

After six weeks for feedback and honing the pieces, some of the resulting poems from this workshop and scripts from the linked Crave Arts script-writing ‘Lies’ workshop will be showcased at the theatre on Saturday, 27 April. Click here for details and booking for the Truth & Lies Showcase on Saturday 27 April – 7.30pm.

Steve Wilson also has his ‘Diary of a Badminton Player’ on at the theatre the night before (Fri 26 April, 7.30pm). Written and performed by emerging local playwright Steve Wilson, this one-man play is a heartfelt and quirky comedy about a busy middle-aged man facing the difficulties of ageing and trying to maintain his status as Worcester’s top badminton celebrity. More information and ticket booking for this can be found here.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized and tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2024
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031